2023 Nurse of the Year


The Rotary Club of Karrinyup Nurse of the Year Award was created in 1990 to honour outstanding nurses working at the Osborne Park Hospital.  This annual perpetual Award recognises a nurse (or midwife), whose daily dedication and care epitomises the highest standard of quality and personal commitment. Osborne Park Hospital has a number of wards catering for surgical, rehabilitation, midwifery and aged care. The hospital has 186 beds and employs over 596 staff, who treat over 95,000 patients every year. Nominations for the Award may be made by nurses, patients, doctors and hospital management staff.

This year the hospital reviewed and updated the nomination criteria for the award to align with the annual WA Health Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards criteria. For the first time three distinct nomination categories were identified these being:

  • Excellence in Graduate Nursing - winner Melissa Leeburn
  • Excellence in Clinical Practice - winner Donna Wheeldon
  • Excellence in Leadership - winner Tanya Forsyth

The winners from each of these three categories determined by an Osborne Park Hospital panel go forward for the overall Karrinyup Rotary Nurse of the Year Award - Donna Wheeldon was announced as the overall winner of the Osborne Park Hospital Nurse of the Year Award. This Award, which is displayed proudly on the wall at Osborne Park Hospital, is highly regarded by the staff and promoted extensively by the Hospital.

The RC Karrinyup members offer our sincere congratulations to all finalists, seen here with hospital coordinator Lorraine Beaty, and most especially to the 2023 Osborne Park Hospital Nurse of the Year – Donna Wheeldon.

Share this with your friends